Where we play

Club logo image is missing

      Veterans Golf Club of Victoria

Newsletter - March 2014

On Monday 3 March 2014, we had 44 starters at Keysborough Golf Club. Our game on the day was Stableford and we played for the Thord Lorich Trophy.


President Bernie welcomed all members to Keysborough GC. He thanked the Club for the use of their excellent course, facilities and lunch. He stated that it was a great day.


Apologies were received from John Currie, Alan Baker, Ken Pride, Roger Huxtep, Ken Griffith, Malcolm Turner, Bill Dooley, Chris Proctor and John Farrow.

Sick List:

Ian Martin (ankle), Colin Wiseman (hip), Alan Millard (heart). Bernie also welcomed back Stan Odachowski who is nearly off the sick list.


Bernie also welcomed Ken Chamberlain, who has become a new member.

Starters today:

Bernie thanked John Sutherland and Jeff Taylor for being our starters for the day.

Special Achievements:

There were five known special achievements in the past month.

Tura Beach:

Bernie stated that he had entry forms for the Week of Golf on the NSW South Coast in July, if anyone wanted to play.

65th Anniversary:

The 65th Anniversary polo shirts are now available. He thanked Daryl Edwards for his efforts.

65th Anniversary Photograph:

Bernie asked all to wear the new shirts to Long Island in April for a club photo.

Question Time:

No questions were asked, so Bernie handed over to the Captain.


Captain Donald welcomed members to Keysborough GC for today’s event.
The CCR for the day was 36.

Winners on the day were:

Thord Lorich Trophy:

David Vine (17) was our winner with 42 points;

David received a $30 Bunnings voucher for his superb display.

Grade Winners

A Grade: Ray Underwood (20)  39 points
B Grade: Bill Frey (28)   37 points; cb
C Grade: Jeff Taylor (36)   41 points

Nearest to the Pin:

3rd Hole: Roger Parker;  12th Hole: Roger Parker
8th Hole: John Hiscock;  15th Hole: Ronnie Chong

Balls down the line:

John Hiscock 37 pts; Ken Chamberlain 37 pts; Peter Bryan 37 pts;
Don Barrett 36 pts; Stan Klofa 36 pts;
Darryl Gangell 35 pts;  Reg Davey 35 pts; and, Ray Reed 35 pts

NAGA Award:

Laurie Comerford was our lucky winner.

Raffle Winner:

The raffle prize was won by David Shutler.

Next Event:

Monday:  7th April 2014 at Long Island Golf Club  
Stableford:  Alf Jones Trophy – be there by 7.15 am
Starters:  Barry Pollock and Hans Bleeker   

Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow.
Good health, happy golfing and apologies for the layout and typing!

Bernie Coyle
(A/Minute Secretary)

<——Previous newsletter | Next newsletter——>